This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is IMO-TEAM-ON-ARRIVAL.jpg
Sri Lanka Team for IMO 2019 returned to the island on 23rd from University of Bath, UK where the IMO was held this year. Parents and well wishers were there at the BI Airport to garland and receive them. Here the triumphant team pose for a picture on their arrival at the airport with SLOMF officials. CEO of Sri Lanka Olympiad Mathematics Foundation Dr. Chanakya Wijeratne who joined the team this time as an observer is flanked by the Team Leader Dr. Dayal Dharmasena on his right and Deputy Leader Dr. Kaushika de Silva on his left. Royalist Maneth Perera who won his second Bronze medal at International Mathematical Olympiad is on Dr. Dayal’s right, with the medal he won. While Maneth’s score of 22 is the joint highest by a Sri Lankan student at an IMO since 1995, the relative rank 73.06% he has reached is the highest so far by a Sri Lankan student in its IMO history of 24 years of participation. Anandian Ghaura (to the left of Dr. Kaushika) who won a Bronze medal last year missed a Bronze medal this year by a mere one mark. Richmondite Kisara, Vishakian Nilushi, Mahindian Sandaru and the other Royalist in the team Sithija all did well to win Honourable mention awards. This year, 112 countries participated in this annual august mathematical contest, conducted each year in a different country in the month of July and is the highest and most respected global mathematical competition for High-school students under 20 years of age. Last year, the IMO was held in Romania and the next year IMO is scheduled to be held in the Russian Federation. The Sri Lanka team’s achievements this year augurs well for the future of Olympiad Mathematics in Sri Lanka. Well done!

Sri Lanka Team to IMO 2019

60th International Mathematical Olympiad this year will be held from 14th to 22nd of July at the University of Bath in UK.
Nelushi Vithanaachchi of Vishakha College Colombo, Sithija Kotuwewatta and Maneth Perera (Maneth in the right corner) of Royal College Colombo, Kisara Kodithuwakku of Richmond College Galle, Sandaru Balahewa of Mahinda College Galle and Ghaura Mahabaduge of Ananda College Colombo (next to Maneth in the photo), have been selected to represent Sri Lanka in this apex global mathematical contest annually fought keenly by competitors from over 100 countries.
Both Maneth and Ghaura in this team are IMO bronze medalists of yesteryears. Dr. Dayal Dharmasena (Senior lecturer, Department of Mathematics, University of Colombo) is leading the team with Dr. Kaushika de Silva (Senior Lecturer, Mathematics Department, University of Jayawardenapura) deputizing. Dr. Chanakya Wijeratne (Senior Lecturer and former Head – Department of Mathematics, University of Colombo and founder – Sri Lanka Olympiad Mathematics Foundation) will join the team as the observer.
Sri Lanka Olympiad Mathematics Foundation selected the team through the Sri Lanka Mathematical Olympiad 2018-2019. IMO team selection is a grueling four layered mathematical contest consisting of Sri Lanka Mathematics Competition, Sri Lanka Mathematics Challenge Competition, IMO Pool Test and four IMO Team Selection Tests (this year reduced to three). The team has been training hard under the able guidance of the aforementioned dedicated University staff to bring gold medals to our motherland this year. The picture above was taken when they were having a break during the residential training camp.
The team will take their flight to UK on 13th instant. We fervently wish our team best of luck at the International Mathematical Olympiad 2019.

IMO 2019

President Meets Sri Lanka Team to International Mathematics Olympiad

The President invited the Sri Lanka Team to IMO 2019 to wish them best of success at the upcoming 60th International Mathematical Olympiad. The event took place at the Presidential Secretariat. Among several academic luminaries present at the occasion were, the Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa, Prof. K. K. Y. W. Perera and the Vice Chancellor of Colombo University, Prof. Chandrika Wijeratne.
Sri Lanka Olympiad Mathematics Foundation selects the students with the best mathematical talent through a series of competitions and trains them for the IMO each year and has produced many a bronze medalist at this prestigious competition over the past 15 years. Officials of the Sri Lanka Technological Campus who helped to get this event underway were also present.

Seated from left: Dr. Chanakya Wijeratne (Senior Lecturer at University of Colombo / Former Head of Mathematics Department and founder / CEO of Olympiad Mathematics Foundation); Dr. Nishantha Perera (Head of the Department of Mathematics, University of Colombo); Eng. Ranjith Rubasinghe (CEO, SLTC), Mr. P.G. Kumarasinghe Sirisena (Chairman, SLT); Prof. K. K. R. Mahanama (Dean of the Faculty of Science, University of Colombo); Prof. Chandrika Wijeratne (Vice Chancellor of the University of Colombo); Prof. K. K. Y. W. Perera (Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa), His Excellency Maithripala Sirisena, the President of Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka; Kisara Kodithuwakku (Richmond College, Galle); Sandaru Balahewa (Mahinda College, Galle); Ghaura Mahabaduge (Ananda College,  Colombo); Sithija Kotuwewatte (Royal College, Colombo); Maneth Perera (Royal College, Colombo); Eng. R. Gunawardena (Director of Operations, SLTC)

Back row from left: Wg Cdr (rtd) Priyantha Jayawickrama (Director, SLOMF); Dr. Kaushika de Silva (Senior Lecturer, Department of Mathematics, University of Sri Jayawardenapura and Director, SLOMF); Dr. Dayal Dharmasena (Senior Lecturer, Department of Mathematics, University of Colombo and Director Training, SLOMF); Dr. Jagath Wijeratne (Senior Lecturer and Former Head, Department of Mathematics, University of Colombo); Mr. M. S. K. Gunathilake (Deputy Principal, Ananda College, Colombo); Mr. P.M. G. G. Jayawardena (Principal, Mahinda College, Galle); Mr. Sampath Weragoda, (Principal, Richmond College, Galle), [Mrs. G. Mahabaduge; Dr. K. R. Fernando; Ms Nisansala Ramanayake; Ms. Lalani Lenora; Ms. Anoma Wickramaarachchi,  Ms. Kumudini Wickramasuriya; Mr. H. K. Balahewa; Mr. G.W.S.K. Perera; Mr. KKSP Kodithuwakku](parents of the team); Dr. Anuradha Mahasinghe (Senior Lecturer, Department of Mathematics, University of Colombo)